Week 10 – Project Life

Hi there.

I tried something new this week, embossing.  I know, I’m always a little bit slow to all these techniques, and everybody has been embossing stuff for years, but I’ve been thinking I like the look of it, and I had some embossing powder that I’ve had in my stash for years, I’m not even sure why I had it.  So I got myself a heat tool and an embossing pad and got to work.

fullsizeoutput_5d3f

The most of my papers for this week are from the Chasing Dreams collection by Crate Paper.  I used some sequins from my stash, and made my own journaling labels.  I also got my hands on the Tim Holtz Small Talk word/phrase stickers too.

IMG_2401

If you follow me on Instagram you’ll have seen this photo of some repeat stamping I did using a Heidi Swapp floral stamp.

fullsizeoutput_5d47

I used it as the base for my title card and used a tag from a cut apart sheet from the Chasing Dreams collection.  I used the same Heidi Swapp stamps to do some embossing too.  The embossing powder I had was this cool copper colour which complimented the colours of this collection well.

fullsizeoutput_5d48

I embossed everything I could to make some embellishments, including this phrase from the same stamp set.

fullsizeoutput_5d4a

As I didn’t have the Chasing Dreams embellishments/die-cuts I relied heavily on bits and pieces from my stash, including these kraft paper heart stickers which I stamped the same floral stamp on as the title card.  It was quite a subtle effect, but helped to tie in the title card to the rest of the layout.

fullsizeoutput_5d4b

How good does that copper embossing look on this textured, teal coloured filler card I created!?

fullsizeoutput_5d4c

I really went to town with the embossing, once I got the hang of it.  It’s definitely something I’ll be doing again.  I just need to add to my embossing powders now, just don’t tell my husband.

fullsizeoutput_58c9xoxo

One thought on “Week 10 – Project Life

Leave a Reply

